Sprouted Spelt Dutch Baby

Sprouted Spelt Dutch Baby with chocolate chips

In January of 2013 our family changed from the Standard American Diet (SAD) to a traditional, or real foods, diet.  We are not perfect in this diet.  We do not have a good source for raw milk and I do not have time to grind my own sprouted wheat.  It is hard to find completely pasture-raised meat, and traditionally fermented cod-liver oil is fairly cost-prohibitive (not to mention that I CAN. NOT. STAND. the taste).  There are many bloggers out there who insist that it can really be less money to eat this way, but so far I haven’t been able to figure that aspect out.  I am also not willing, at this time, to make food the sole focus of my daily existence.  So we do what we can.

When we eliminated breakfast cereals, coming up with breakfasts was hard for me.  I had previously relied on Cheerios to get our day off to as quick a start as possible.  Too bad we were hungry an hour later and I was gaining weight like it was the latest craze.  So when I discovered this easy recipe for Dutch baby, I added it to our weekly rotation.  We don’t have it as often, but the kids have re-discovered it lately.

Sprouted Spelt Dutch Baby– serves two adults and four children

  • 1 cup sprouted spelt flour
  • 1 cup buttermilk, kefir, yogurt, or milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 cup filtered water
  • 4 tablespoons butter

Put the butter in a 9 x 14 inch glass baking dish.  Put it in the oven and turn it on to 400 degrees F.  You will leave it in the oven until it is melted and sizzling, usually right around the time you’re done mixing up the rest of the ingredients.

I use my Vitamix to blend together the rest of the ingredients.  I crack the eggs in the blender and turn it on low, leaving it running while I add the kefir (or yogurt, or buttermilk, or milk), then vanilla, water, and salt.  I turn the blender up a couple of notches and then add the flour.  Leave it running for a minute or two.

When the butter is done melting, take the pan out and turn the oven down to 350 degrees F.  Pour the mixture out of the blender and into the pan with the melted butter.  Stick it in the oven and bake it for 30- 40 minutes, until it is puffy and lightly browned.

We enjoy it with pancake-type toppings: more butter, real maple syrup, chocolate chips, jelly, strawberries, cream, sun butter, etc.  For some, all of it at once.

 

Dutch Baby and Jelly

Nora enjoyed a couple of bites for the first time.  This is actually one of the first grains she’s ever had, right before her eighteen month milestone!

DSC_8311

Leave a Reply

